COMMITTEE	The Council
DATE:	19 December 2019
TITLE	Re- appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee
AUTHOR	Iwan Evans, Monitoring Officer

Background

- 1. There are five 'independent members' (i.e. members without any connection with local government) on the Council's Standards Committee. The committee also includes a member representing the community councils and three elected members from Gwynedd Council.
- 2. The terms of office of two of the independent members Einir Young and Margaret E. Jones have come to an end.
- 3. The relevant regulations (The Standards Committees (Wales) Regulations 2001) allow independent members to be re-appointed for one further consecutive term not exceeding four years. Both members are eligible for reappointment and have expressed their willingness to serve for a further term. Re-appointing them would mean that the committee will not lose the experience and expertise they have gained during their service.
- 4. Whilst a statutory process of advertising and interviewing must be undertaken when appointing new independent members, it is not necessary to do so when re-appointing members.

Recommendation

5. To re-appoint Einir Young and Margaret E. Jones as independent members of the Standards Committee for a further term.

Statutory Officers' Comments

Monitoring Officer

Author of the report

Head of Finance

Nothing to add from the perspective of financial propriety.